The IPO Foundation


The IPO Foundation was founded in 1981 with the goal of helping the orchestra balance its budget, expand its music education and community programs and ensure its future. To this end, the Foundation raises money for its endowment fund, which is used to finance the needs of the orchestra and enable it to meet the challenges of the day.


The history of the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra is a story of vision, creativity, initiative and imagination. The IPO Foundation aims to continue and expand upon this rich history.


The Orchestra began before the birth of the state with Bonislaw Huberman’s call Jewish musicians in Europe to immigrate to the land of Israel and contribute to what he termed “the realization of Zionist culture in the land of our forefathers.” Today, the Israel Philharmonic is a first-class symphony orchestra and cultural emissary which represents the best of the State of Israel and conveys a message of peace, harmony and excellence to every corner of the world.


Board of Directors


Honorary Chairman: Frank Lowy

Chairman: Michael Zellemayer

Executive Director: Tali Gottlieb


Members: Yair Hamburger, Sara Lahat, Josianne Zvia Meitar, Rami Nussbaum, Ya’acov Perry, Tova Sagol, Reuven Schrift, Sarah Sela, Rivka Saker, Irith Rappaport Switzerland, Ami Sagi, Ruth Sheetrit, Michal Mossek, Aharon Yaron and Yoel Abadi.


Resource Development: Orna Asher

International Relations: Stephanie Merdler

IPO Foundation Subscribers and Family: Amit Rousso

Office Manager: Hagar Elor-Bourla


The IPO International Board

Chairman: Zubin Mehta

Honorary Co-Chairs: Pinchas Zukerman and Amanda Forsyth

Co-Presidents: Uzi Zucker and Rivka Saker

Honorary Co-Presidents: Rita and Charles Bronfman

Vice President: Marsha Nuriya Lee


Honorary Governors: HRH The Duke of Edinburgh, HRH Princess Maria Gabriella de Savoia, Lord Jacob Rothschild, Shirley and Frank Lowy, Lily Safra, Lynn Schusterman, Oded Gera (Founder)


Governors and Benefactors: Arnon Adar, Anonymous, Susanne and René Braginsky, Gerda and Joseph Brender, Anette Bollag-Rothschild, Mirtha and Fred Chaoul, Marianne and Doron Livnat, Dame Vivien Duffield, Emily and Horacio Furman, Rochelle and David Hirsch, Morris Kahn, Jane and Don Lebell, Anita and Nissim Mayo, Judith and Burton Resnick, Judith and Jacob Richter, Tova and Sammy Sagol, Lizika and Ami Sagy, Suki Sandler, Kena and Zalman Shoval, Lynn Syms, Lilian Vernon, Lauren and John Veronis, Heide Wolf-Kaufmann, Michal and Michael Zellermayer, Faigie and Rubin Zimmerman


Founding Members: Andrea Bronfman, Sara Mayer, Edmond J. Safra, Herman Sandler, Lord Wolfson


Executive Director: Tali Gottlieb



Goal and Objectives


The IPO Foundation was founded in 1981 with the goal of supporting and promoting the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra in Israel and abroad.

The IPO Foundation is guided by the following objectives:

· Create a large endowment fund capable of financing the present and future financial needs of the Orchestra;

· Assisting the Orchestra to maintain the highest musical standards and artistic excellence

· Supporting the IPO’s music education and community outreach Programs: Keynote and Sulamot – Music for Social Change

· Sponsoring special concerts of the Orchestra in Israel as well as IPO international tours, representing Israel as its foremost cultural emissary

· Purchasing quality instruments to enhance the Orchestra’s sound

· Encouraging the commission and performance of original Israeli compositions


Heichal Hatarbut Charles Bronfman Auditorium, Lowy Concert Hall

1 Huberman, P.O.B. 23500, Tel Aviv 6123401

Tel: 03-6296266 Fax: 03-6296267