60th Anniversary

60 years ago, in October 1957, the home of the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra was inaugurated – the Fredric R. Mann Auditorium (Heichal Hatarbut), named after its donor and initiator, a staunch friend of the IPO.

The transition from the Ohel Shem Hall to a spacious, first-rate auditorium was a tremendous stepping stone for the orchestra, which expanded its audience and gained an exquisite venue.

Today, for the 60th anniversary of Heichal Hatarbut, we inaugurate Zucker Hall, thus completing the building‘s renovations that began four years ago.

The festivities include a recreation of the inaugural concert of the hall on Thursday, 12.10.17; a special chamber concert in Zucker Hall on Friday, 13.10.17; and a special children’s concert on Saturday, 14.10.17.

Special Concert - 60th Anniversary of Heichal Hatarbut

Zubin Mehta, conductor

Christian Tetzlaff, violinist

Mischa Maisky, cellist

Yefim Bronfman, pianist


Beethoven: Overture Consecration of the House

Sheriff: Festival Prelude

Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor, op. 64

Bloch: Schelomo – Hebrew Rhapsody for cello and orchestra

Beethoven: Piano Concerto no. 5 ("Emperor")

Chamber Concert

Zubin Mehta, conductor

Maria João Pires, pianist

Ilya Konovalov, violinist

Yevgenia Pikovsky, violinist

Miriam Hartman, violist

Peter Marck, bassist

Guy Eshed, flutist

Lior Eiten, flutist

Dudu Carmel, oboist

Dmitry Malkin, english horn player

Ron Selka, clarinetist

Yevgeny Yehudin, clarinetist

Jonathan Hadas, clarinetist

Daniel Mazaki, bassoonist

Carol Patterson, bassoonist

Michael Slatkin, hornist

Gal Raviv, hornist


Schoenberg: Chamber Symphony

Schubert: The Trout Quintet

The Carnival of the Animals

Hanny Nahmias, presenter
Talmon Pachevsky, pianist
Yuval Shmila, pianist
8 IPO musicians

Saint-Saëns: The Carnival of the Animals