Home>The Buchmann-Mehta scholl of music

The Buchmann-Mehta scholl of music

The Israel Philharmonic and Tel Aviv University established the University School of Music named after Josef Buchmann and Zubin Mehta. For the first time, these two leading institutions collaborate in training future generations of musicians in Israel and help promote their careers in Israel and abroad. The School, based on the existing Academy of Music at Tel Aviv University, includes an Excellence Program for ca. 100 outstanding full-scholarship students. Principal Israel Philharmonic musicians are on the School’s faculty and Zubin Mehta is its Honorary President. The establishment of the School was enabled thanks to a generous donation made by Mr. Josef Buchmann, a staunch friend of the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra and vice chairman of the Tel Aviv University Board of Governors.